Portimão/Dublin/Boston/Detroit

Portimão/Dublin/Boston/Detroit, May 9, 2017, Day 28, our last day….sigh…..

En route to Dublin… then to Boston…. then to Detroit…..and back to Taylor….deeply sigh again….

Does my face say it all on my picture? LOL!! This picture even made me laugh!

But, it has been a truly, wonderful trip. And as the adage goes, all good things must come to an end.

Leaving the apartment went without a hitch. We got everything packed, garbage tossed and the groceries donated to Steve and Kris.

YellowFish, the airport transfer, was right on time. They were early, again. In fact, it is the same driver that Daughter had. I mistakenly thought that it was the driver who picked us up when we first arrived, but Hubby said that it isn’t. I wasn’t at the van when the driver weighed our bags, but Hubby said they were under the 50lb limit, he didn’t remember what they were.

This driver was *VERY* engaging. Almost to the point of being like an Italian, where he did a lot of talking with his hands, *WHILE* driving!!! YIKES!!

We passed this set of statutes when we were almost to the airport. Looks like Stonehenge. They are called ‘*Plane Watchers.’* They are too cool (or fixe, which is pronounced ‘*fish*’)!

Because Hubby checked us in online, we were able to bypass the long check-in line. We just had to check our luggage and get our boarding pass. But unlike our check-in at Metro airport, they were unable to check us in for the rest of our flight. I just hope when we get to the gate that they ask to check our carry on luggage.

Once we went through the TSA checkpoint, we saw a couple places to get coffee. We go to Burger King, where there was the shortest line. But they didn’t have any breakfast items, only hamburgers. I guess that’s why there wasn’t a line there. I got a cappuccino and Hubby wanted an orange juice, but the only juice they had was an orange juice box.

When it was time to find our gate, it looked like we had to go through another checkpoint. This was one was pretty crowded. Hubby left me in line to make sure that we were where we needed to be. OK. So I’m in line. There are lots of people behind me, then these two white guys come and stand beside me. Really?! When the line moves, they work themselves in front of me! If I’d been at Metro I would have said something. But I didn’t want to cause an international incident here in Portugal, so I kept my mouth closed and the Detroit east-sider in me, under control! Then we go through customs and I get another stamp on my passport!! WooHoo!! 

Unfortunately, when we get to the boarding gate, there is no request to check our carry on. Shoot! That’s just one more thing that we have to keep up with. We get on a shuttle that takes us to the plane. While we are riding, a guy sitting behind me coughs….eekkk!!! Cooties!!!! I feel his breath all on the side of my face!!!

After the plane takes off, I see there are some empty seats. One next to us. Two across the aisle. So this is not a full flight. That’s why they didn’t ask to check our bags. There is a poor little baby who is crying up a storm. They sound very miserable; their ears must be hurting. I am saying a prayer for them and their parents. Now the baby is quiet. He must have cried himself to sleep.

We land in Dublin and make it to our gate. We have about two hours before the plane leaves. We are both hungry. There is a nearby snack bar selling deli sandwiches and salads. Then I see on their blackboard that they have pancakes and omeletes! Of course, Hubby asks for pancakes and I get a roasted chicken salad sandwich with a lemon and coconut muffin. My sandwich OK. But it was refrigerator cold. It would have tasted better if it were room temperature. But the muffin was really good. I am going to hate to get on the scales when I get home. Gotta get back in the routine of eating better….

We board the plane, this time Jackie has the window seat. These seats seem to be a lot smaller. I feel so cramped and I don’t have any leg room, my backpack is taking all the space where my feet should go. But I am remembering to flex my legs so I don’t get any blood clots. My sister has put the fear in me!

On this leg of the flight, you get lots of perks. I watched two movies, *Moana* and *Why Him?*(which was the family-censored version!) Now I am listening to smooth jazz. We were given a beverage and a tiny bag of pretzels. Later we were served dinner with the choice of chicken or beef. We both chose chicken. Dinner consisted of baked boneless, skinless chicken breast, with gravy. Potatoes and carrots. A slice of dense brown bread with a pat of the Kerrygold butter. A salad topped with cold pasta. A carton of water and for dessert something that looked like strawberry mousse, but they called it strawberry shortcake. Then they came around with coffee or tea. So we both had coffee. Then later a snack of a mini Cesar wrap with a chocolate crispy, which was pretty good. Then beverages again. This time we got tea. I added the milk and sugar to mine. A proper cup of tea. My iPad says 10:00pm which is still on Portugal time. Right now the monitor is saying that it is 4:58pm in Boston. Then we will arrive in Detroit at 10:20pm.

Currently, there is a little turbulence and when that happens you aren’t to get up, not even to use the bathroom. So when they turn the light back on…(I will try to get a picture of it)…

I don’t or can’t sleep. Hubby is asleep. The rest of this flight is uneventful. Because he is sitting by the window, he sees another plane flying parallel to us, but of course, a ways away. I tried to get a picture of it, but all you can see is the contrail. I think he took a picture. Let me stop and go check his phone. OK…his picture is a little clearer.

Now we are in Boston. OMG!!….we had to go through so many check points, US customs and a USA pre clearance. I had to take my shoes off twice and get my laptop and iPad out twice, then stuff them back into my backpack…Man! That got old really fast! Whew! We have almost two hours before our plane leaves. Hubby smells hamburgers cooking, so he wants one. I’m not hungry. I’m still full from all that they served on the plane. And my inside hip joints are bothering me…why? I can’t walk to keep up with Hubby, who normally pokes along like an old man. So, I had to tell him why and to slow down. We stopped for a minute because I did bring my pain pills with me, so I wanted to look for them in my purse. But since I didn’t need them, I couldn’t find them. I may have repacked them in my checked suitcase. And I think that Daughter used all of my Tylenols when she was here. Aghhhhh😣

Hubby decided to eat at Johnny Rockets. He got a hamburger, fries and a shake. I just got a pop. When we sat at the table waiting for his food, I was able to really search in my backpack…and Thank You Lord, I found my pills. I took one, knowing that when it started working it would knock me out. So I know that I should sleep on the flight to Detroit. Hubby wonders if my backpack was too heavy and that was causing my pain. I don’t think so. I think it was because on the flight we just got off, I had absolutely no where to put my feet or stretch out my legs. I must have been sitting in an awkward position…but I don’t know…maybe…I called Daughter and Son and spoke with them. Daughter has the flu…po’ baby. She just found out today. So her doctor is excusing her from work. I reminded Ronnie about picking us up. Hubby said to make sure he has his house-key to let us inside. That would be a good thing.

Our plane left at 8:10pm. This time, Hubby and I sat across the aisle from each other. And because it was a nighttime flight the interior cabin lights were off. He went to sleep. I couldn’t, not even after taking the pain pill. The TV monitor wasn’t working, so you couldn’t watch a movie, nor listen to any music. I had a magazine with me, so I thoroughly read each article to make this past-time last the duration of the flight.

We were served a beverage, which I declined, and a salty snack. I had Cheez-it’s. The captain told us we were early. Our seats were in row four (from the front!!!) so we were able to de-board very easily. Then I called Son to let him know that we are here.

Getting our luggage and getting picked up, was uneventful. It was so good to see my baby boy after almost a month! And of course being home was great. A huge pile of mail awaited us. I should taken a picture of it. Oh, voicemails! Let me see now how many…only 8. Most people call us on our cell phones. TC had clean sheets on the bed, Thank You Lord! She really helped out a lot and kept the house clean for us.

Well….it’s all over….

What a wonderful vacation.

What a wonderful blessing.

I have one more post to add to this blog…my afterthoughts.

Then I will put this blog aside until we travel again. But, you can also follow me under allaboutcheryl.wordpress.com.

Happy trails, until we meet again!

About allaboutcheryl

want-to-be writer, 60's are the new 40's, recreating myself and making lifestyle changes!
This entry was posted in The Destinations, The Foods, The Process, The Travels and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

