Sabbatical/2nd Honeymoon Day 42

Thursday, 9-27-18

Myrtle Beach

Jackie has a dental appointment. He wasn’t eligible to get his teeth cleaned before we left, so he has a 10:45 appointment this morning. He wants to go out for breakfast afterwards. While he is at the dentist, to save time, I did an hours walking inside. I overlapped by talking with one of my cousins’ who just read my book and wanted to give me her feedback.

When Jackie returned, we went to Cracker Barrel.

I had the Fresh Start Sampler. Egg whites, turkey sausage, yogurt with granola, and a warmed blueberry muffin. I only ate the yogurt and muffin, that was filling enough for me. I’ll save the rest for another day.

One of the things that I found, free, to do today, was to attend a festival at a Greek Orthodox Church. It runs through the weekend at St John the Baptist.

We were given a sticker to wear that said ‘Efkharisto!’ Which means Welcome! But, it’s Greek to me!

There were tours scheduled to see the inside of the church. We got there just in time for the next showing.

Our guide was Jordan.

He looks pretty young, so I’m not sure if he’s a priest in training or what. I didn’t think to ask him that question.

There were about 15 of us. He led us into the main sanctuary where we sat and he gave a historical account of how the Orthodox Church came into existence. He talked about the different areas, statues and paintings. Their order of service and why they do what they do.

I was disappointed that we did not do an actual walk through of the building. That would have been pretty cool.

Afterwards, we walked around and looked at some of the vendors. There was live music going on under a tent, so we sat to listen.

She was pretty good, but she sang in Greek, so we couldn’t understand what she was saying. There weren’t any subtitles (hahaha). Jackie tried a Greek beer, he said that it tasted like American beer. But he’s no beer connoisseur. I tried a dessert.

Karithopita: sponge cake with spices and walnuts topped with a spicy honey syrup. It was very good. Just need a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a cup of coffee.

We listened to more music, then people started eating around us, so we got hungry. I got a chicken gyros and Jackie got a meal. He had Mousaka, with green beans, potatoes and pita bread.

I tasted some it was pretty good.

We left after that. I was surprised that we stayed so long. We were there about three hours.

When we got home, we took a quick walk to help digest our food.

Then we watched another movie that I got from the library. It was Anthropoid, based on a true story. Two Czechoslovakian soldiers sent to kill Hitler’s third in command, Reinhard Heydrich. Although fell asleep towards the end, it was a pretty interesting movie.

About allaboutcheryl

want-to-be writer, 60's are the new 40's, recreating myself and making lifestyle changes!
This entry was posted in The Destinations, The Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment