Sabbatical/2nd Honeymoon, Day 126 (updated)

Today is Friday, 12-21-18, Day 126

I got up at 4:15am

Jackie is flying home to get our granddaughter to spend the holidays with us.

This is the weather forecast:

It was hard getting up at 4:15am. It we all did and got Jackie to the airport on time, after prayer. Safe travels!

Afterwards, we went to Waffle House for breakfast.

I only ate the waffle. The rest of the breakfast I brought home for tomorrow.

Tryna and I were going to do holiday grocery shopping. So I had to get in the right mood.

When we got in the car to leave, Tryna realized that she left her house key in the house! OMG!! What now!? We went on and did our grocery shopping, hoping and praying that the kitchen door was left unlocked!

But, alas when we got home, the door was locked. We tried to jimmy the lock, but with no avail. She had to call a locksmith. I told her that we would help her pay for it. It took the service tech about 40 minutes to get here. And took him about five minutes to open the door.

Then we put the groceries away. I ate lunch. Manhattan clam chowder soup and a half peanut butter and jelly sandwich.

Afterwards, I wrapped presents. Now it’s time for dinner. I got a chicken wrap from Walmart. I added black bean chips.

Watching Holiday Champion Baking while working on my blog.

Jackie and our granddaughter should be here by 12:30am. I hope I don’t fall asleep.

Today at 9:10pm, I’ve walked 15,140 steps.

PS

Originally Katryna was to leave from hanging out with friends to go get Jackie and Maya from the airport. But they were finished sooner than expected, so she came home to get me.

The arrival gate was super crowded. We knew Jackie was at the carousel waiting for Maya’s luggage so we thought we could wait in the ‘No Parking’ area along with everyone else.

Katryna had been drinking tea, so she needed to go use the restroom. Our fingers were crossed that no one would come along and make me move the car.

Sure enough, about five minutes into her being gone, an agent came and said all the cars had to move. I explained that my driver had to go use the bathroom. He said, “well, I’ll have to write you out a citation.” And he pulled out his pad. “OK. I’m leaving.” I told him.

I should have pushed back. I should have told him that I didn’t live here and didn’t know the area. But I didn’t. I thought I could make a simple loop like at Metro and come right back.

I was less than a minute away when Tryna called.

I explained what happened. She said just follow the signs for North Terminal and I’ll be fine. BUT, I wasn’t in the right lane and ended up off the airport!

OMG!! OMG!! OMG!!

Now I am panicking. It’s dark. No signs. I have no idea where I am. Thank God that I had my phone with me and in Jackie’s car with hand-free talking. I called her back in a panic. I am not seeing any exit ramps. I’m just trying down a dark deserted road.

I see a sign that I thought said ‘International’ as in airport, I take that exit, but it puts me on an expressway with no further indication of International, airport or anything.

I am driving soooo slow. It’s dark. The street is windy. There is a semi-truck on my back bumper… Lord! Help me!!

Tryna is trying to calm me down. My hands are shaking so badly. She tells me to find any exit to get off then set my GPS to come back.

Where am I? Still no ramps!

I finally find a ramp, come off and there is a gas station! Thank You Lord!🙏🏾 I pull into it and sit for a minute to calm myself down. I program the GPS to go back. I am 12 minutes away.

I let Tryna know. She said she will call me back in 12 minutes. I can’t use the GPS and talk to her at the same time. I follow the route. I got turned around a couple of times, but the GPS would always correct my route.

OMG!!

I made it back! I am sweating like a pig! I am so nervous and relieved. This adventure took me 45 minutes. And it was 45 of the worst minutes of my life. What if I had gotten in an accident? What if I ran out of gas (only has 1/4 tank). What if I didn’t have my phone with me?

But, all I can say is Thank You Lord!🙏🏾 Thank You Lord!🙏🏾 Thank You Lord!🙏🏾 Thank You Lord!🙏🏾 Thank You Lord!🙏🏾 Thank You Lord!🙏🏾

When we finally got home, I looked at my Fitbit and saw that my pulse was 124! It’s normally in the 60’s. I wonder what it was while I was going through this.

I hope and pray this will never ever happen again!

About allaboutcheryl

want-to-be writer, 60's are the new 40's, recreating myself and making lifestyle changes!
This entry was posted in The Destinations, The Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment